The Apache Software Foundation (ASF) will be holding its annual Members' meeting this July. Among the Foundation's business that takes place during this meeting is the election of new ASF Members. 

At its inception in 1999, The ASF comprised 21 individuals who oversaw the progress of the Apache HTTP Server. This group formed the Foundation's core membership. This group grew with "Committers", developers who contributed code, patches, or documentation, and were subsequently granted access by the Membership: 1) to "commit" or "write" (contribute) directly to the code repository; 2) the right to vote on community-related decisions; and 3) and the ability propose an active user for Committership. Those Committers who demonstrate merit in the Foundation’s growth, evolution, and progress are nominated for ASF Membership by existing members. 

ASF Members are elected bi-annually. New Members elected at the January 2011 Members' meeting are:

Greg Brown, Michael Busch, Jack Cai,
Adriano Crestani, Paul Joseph Davis, Jean-Sebastien Delfino,
Ted Dunning, Mohammad Nour El-Din, Julian Foad,
Igor Galic, Alan Gates, Oliver Heger,
Colm O Heigeartaigh, Arnaud Heritier, Jeremy Hughes,
Patrick Hunt, Nandika Jayawardana, Willem Ning Jiang,
Supun Kamburugamuva, Yegor Kozlov, Ken Krugler,
Damitha Kumarage, Olivier Lamy, Paul Lindner,
Ruwan Linton, Jimmy Lv, Rick McGuire,
Mark Miller, Julien Nioche, Johan Oskarsson,
Gerhard Petracek, Joerg Schaible, Theo Schlossnagle,
Zoe Slattery, Stefan Sperling, Ulrich Staerk,
Amila Suriarachchi, Tommaso Teofili, Tammo van Lessen,
Gert Vanthienen, Igor Vaynberg, Kanchana Welagedara.

Welcome all, and thank you for your contributions to the Foundation thus far!

The complete list of ASF members and committers is available on For more information on how the ASF works, visit

# # #