The Apache Software Foundation (ASF) held its annual Members' meeting this May. Among the Foundation's business that takes place during this meeting is the election of new ASF Members.

At its inception in 1999, The ASF comprised 21 individuals who oversaw the progress of the Apache HTTP Server. This group formed the Foundation's core membership.

This group grew with "Committers", developers who contributed code, patches, or documentation, and were subsequently granted access by the Membership:

  1) to "commit" or "write" (contribute) directly to the code repository;

  2) the right to vote on community-related decisions; and

  3) and the ability propose an active user for Committership

Those Committers who demonstrate merit in the Foundation’s growth, evolution, and progress are nominated for ASF Membership by existing members. There are currently 468 active Apache Members.

ASF Members are elected bi-annually. New Members elected at the May 2013 Members' meeting are:
Alejandro Abdelnur, Robin Anil, Andrew Bayer, Sergey Beryozkin, Alan M. Carroll, Pei Chen, Chip Childers, Fabian Christ, Luca Cinquini, Dave Cottlehuber, Martin Desruisseaux, Andrew Farris, Adam Fuchs, Reto Bachmann-Gmuer, Daniel Gruno, Alex Harui, Dan Haywood, Sheryl John, Konstantin Kolinko, Christine Koppelt, Jörn Kottmann, Matt Massie, Christian Mueller, David Nalley, Thomas Neidhart, Robert Newson, Ricky Nguyen, Andrea Pescetti, Mark Phippard, Marlon Pierce, Andrew Rist, Henry Saputra, Vinod Kumar Vavilapalli, Andreas Veithen, Nick Wellnhofer, Paul Zimdars.

Welcome all!

The complete list of ASF Members and Committers is available at For more information on how the ASF works, visit
# # #