At The Apache Software Foundation (ASF) Board Meeting held this week, the following changes to the Foundation's Executive Officers have taken place effective immediately:

  1. Ross Gardler has stepped down as President after serving for the past three years and will now serve as Executive Vice President;
  2. Sam Ruby has been appointed ASF President, and has stepped down as an ASF Director;
  3. Rich Bowen has resigned as Executive Vice President to assume the re-established position of Vice President Conferences, a role he has been performing as part of his EVP responsibilities, and will be serving as an ASF Director for the remainder of the current term; 
  4. Greg Stein has resigned from his posts as ASF Vice Chairman and Vice President of Apache Subversion to assume the newly-created role of ASF Infrastructure Administrator; and
  5. Chris Mattmann has been appointed ASF Vice Chairman

The following Officer appointments remain unchanged:

 - Brett Porter, Chairman
 - Ulrich Stärk, Treasurer
 - Craig Russell, Secretary
 - Sam Ruby, Assistant Secretary

The ASF Board of Directors comprises the following 9 individuals:

 - Rich Bowen
 - Shane Curcuru
 - Bertrand Delacretaz
 - Isabel Drost-Fromm
 - Marvin Humphrey
 - Jim Jagielski
 - Chris Mattmann
 - Brett Porter
 - Mark Thomas

The Foundation thanks Ross, Sam, Rich, Greg, and Chris for their service and flexibility in ensuring continuity with ASF Operations, and to all Officers and members of the ASF Board for their support.

An overview of the ASF's governance, along with the complete list of ASF Board of Directors, Executive Officers, and Project/Committee Vice Presidents, can be found at

For more information on the Foundation's operations and structure, see

# # #